Archive for April, 2013

MSA Metropolitan Statistical Areas Wisconsin

Thursday, April 11th, 2013

Metropolitan Statistical Areas in the State of Wisconsin

Wisconsin contains 11 Metropolitan statistical areas that are totally within the state and an additional four MSAs that overlap state borders.  The Wisconsin MSAs include the following areas:

1.         Appleton (Outagamie and Calumet)

2.         Eau Claire (Eau Claire and Chippewa)

3.         Fond du Lac (Fond du Lac(

4.         Green Bay (Brown, Oconoto and Kewaunee)

5.         Janesville (Rock)

6.         Madison (Dane, Columbia and Iowa)

7.         Milwaukee-Waukesha-West Allis (Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee and Washington)

8.         Oshkosh-Neenah (Winnebago)

9.         Racine (Racine)

10.       Sheboygan (Sheboygan)

11.       Wausau (Marathon)

The four cross-border MSAs applicable to the State of Wisconsin include:

1.         La Crosse (La Crosse/WI plus Houston/MN

2.         Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington (Anoka, Carver, Chicago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Washington and Wright/MN plus Pierce and St. Croix, Wisconsin)

3.         Duluth (Carlton and St. Louis/MN plus Douglas, WI

4.         Chicago-Naperville-Joliet (Cook, Dekalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenig and Will/IL plus Jasper, Lake, Newton and Porter/IN plus Kenosha, WI

HPSA Wisconsin Health Professional Shortage Areas

Thursday, April 11th, 2013

HPSA Areas In The State of Wisconsin

The Wisconsin Department of Health Services has published a map and other statistics relative to HPSAs in the state of Wisconsin.  []

Generally speaking, HPSAs are areas that indicate significant shortage of primary care services.  HPSAs are divided into three clusters:

i.          a geographic area such as a county, cluster of towns or census tracks;

ii.         a specific population within an area (i.e. low income population); or

iii.        a specific facility (i.e. a mental health facility or a state correctional facility.

Federal law requires that HPSA encompass a rational services area, must have a significant shortage of providers on a full-time equivalent basis as compared to the size of the area’s population.  Additionally, areas adjoining must be distant and/or have provider shortages themselves.

The State Health Department submits applications for HPSA designation.  HPSA designations must be renewed and redesignated every four (4) years.

A complete listing of all HPSA in the United States is maintained at  The more extensive listing included at that site includes a complete designation of all HPSAs within each county and is not limited to the broad geographic HPSAs within each county and is not limited to the broad geographic HPSA areas that are contained on the Wisconsin DHS map.  The more detailed designation also include facility-based HPSAs and automatic safety net HPSAs.

Providers should consult the more detailed list to be certain that the area they are servicing is within a HPSA.

The Wisconsin Department of Health Services also contain a more detailed, city specific map of various cities within Wisconsin such as Milwaukee, Wausau, Beloit, Sheboygan, Racine, Waukesha and Kenosha .


For more information on HPSAs, visit the Wisconsin Primary Care Office website: